The Pro Football Hall of Fame revealed their modern-era finalists for the 2022 class on Thursday. Among the list of 15 NFL legends being considered for enshrinement in Canton, Ohio, are three players who made the list in their first year of eligibility, two players previously eligible, but finalists for the first time and then 10 players who at least one other time have reached this stage in the selection process.

Per, the modern-era player finalists are determined by a vote of the Hall’s Selection Committee, a process that began with 122 nominees. That group was trimmed in November to 26. These 15 finalists have one more round to go, as the selection committee votes on next year’s induction class the week of Super Bowl LVI.

Late Raiders wide receiver Cliff Branch was already chosen as a seniors finalist while Dick Vermeil was selected as the coach finalist and former referee Art McNally is the contributors finalist.

Here are the 15 players who have been selected as Hall of Fame finalists: 

WR Andre Johnson (Texans, Colts, Titans) 2003-16: The former Texans star is eligible for the first time in 2022. A seven-time Pro Bowler and two-time All-Pro, Johnson led the NFL in receiving in 2008 and in 2009. One of the most physically dominant receivers ever, Johnson retired with 1,062 catches with 14,185 yards and 70 touchdowns. 

OLB DeMarcus Ware (Cowboys, Broncos) 2005-16: A menacing pass-rusher, Ware twice led the NFL in sacks during his nine seasons with the Cowboys. After 117 sacks in Dallas, Ware took his talents to Denver, where he and Von Miller posed the NFL’s most formidable pass rushing duo. The duo helped lead the Broncos to a victory over the Panthers in Super Bowl 50. Ware retired with 138.5 sacks and eight double-digit sack seasons. He will be eligible for the Hall of Fame for the first time in 2022. 

WR Reggie Wayne (Colts) 2001-14: The Batman to Marvin Harrison’s Superman,…



Read More